2005 League Finals

2005 League Finals night, as reported in the Roscommon Herald

Creaton’s capture first county darts title

The County Roscommon Darts League came to a conclusion on Sunday last with two quality finals taking centre stage in the Coachman’s Inn, Roscommon town.

The shield final was won by Dodd’s A from Boyle, making it three shield wins in the past four years. However, the night belonged to cup winners for the first time, Creaton’s Bar, Loughglynn.

Having been runners-up twice and three-time losing semi-finalists, Creaton’s had something of a jinx to overcome. However, Murray’s Bar, Knockcroghery would prove tough opposition despite the 5-2 scoreline.

Sean Finan/Eugene McDonagh gave Creaton’s the lead in a well-fought and high scoring 3-2 win over Mick Egan/ Paul Carton with all legs going with darts. Jimmy Reilly/Pat Byrne restored parity for Murray’s in their convincing 3-0 win over Pat Reid/Padraig Finan. Matt Scally/Tony Thacker enjoyed a 3-1 win over Tony Lyons/Damien McSharry to give Creaton’s a 2-1 interval lead.

The opening singles game was probably the game of the night. Jimmy Reilly took a two leg lead over Tony Thacker. Reilly scored and finished well in both legs. Thacker’s revival started with remarkable darts. Scores of 140, 180 and 131 left 50 after nine darts. Reilly stayed close but he couldn’t stop Thacker taking the leg. Thacker took the fourth leg with an 80 outshot. He duly broke Jimmy Reilly’s and Knockcroghery hearts in taking the fifth leg with a 3-2 win.

Eugene McDonagh strengthened Creaton’s advantage to 4-1 in a narrow 3-2 win over Willie Doyle. With the match appearing over as a contest, Murray’s reliable Mick Egan cruised to a 3-0 win over Creaton’s captain, Sean Finan, a scoreline which should have given Murray’s some belief that a comeback was on the cards. Although at this stage Creaton’s led 4-2 in games, Murray’s had amazingly won more legs.

Creaton’s Matt Scally had a second chance to wrap up the title for his team and he duly made no mistake. He became something of a specialist in shooting 100 or better and gave Damien McSharry little chance of getting back into the game. Scally sank a double four to round off the contest and Creaton’s were crowned champions on a 5-2 scoreline.

In his victory speech, Sean Finan praised his side and a gallant Murray’s team who put up a great fight. He went on to thank the score checkers alongside all supporters and spectators for creating a unique atmosphere. In a poignant moment, Sean also paid tribute to the late Tommy Kenny, who he wished could share in his team’s victory. The Willie Tiernan Perpetual Cup was then presented to Sean Finan.

In the Shield Final, Dodd’s A, Boyle overcame a stiff challenge from Major Tom’s, Castlerea. Dodd’s outscored the Castlerea side with four 180s. Two of these came from David Conroy with one each from Sean Kerins and John Gallagher. Dodd’s led 2-1 at the interval and went on to secure victory with further wins from John Gallagher, Declan Conroy and Pat Mullaney. Gerry Owens and James McIntyre gave Major Tom’s their games. The presentation of the Roscommon County Darts Shield was made by Martin Smith of Coachman’s Inn to Dodd’s Acaptain, James Woods.

Dates for Diary: Friday, April 8th at 9 p.m., Flanagan’s Bar, Castleplunkett; Roscommon Youths Intercounty and West Coast Challenge champions presentation night. All are welcome.

Sunday, April 10th, third annual Tommy Kenny Cup in Creaton’s Bar, Loughglynn (money in, money out). All names must be submitted by 4.30 p.m.. First darts will be at 5 p.m.