Finals report 2007-08

2008 League Finals night, as reported in the Roscommon Herald. 


Spell’s and Creaton’s taste success

Spell's, Ballaghaderreen, 2008 Cup Final winners

The 2007/2008 Hannon’s Hotel, Roscommon County Darts League came to a conclusion on Sunday with two
outstanding finals taking place at a packed Hannon’s Hotel in Roscommon town.

A total of 66 legs decided the destinations of both cup and shield titles with both finals going the distance.

Benji Hayden (Spell’s) and Padraig Finan (Creaton’s) became the heroes of their respective teams.

Spell’s of Ballaghaderreen became the overall cup champions for the second time following a 4-3 victory
against McDermott’s of Ballinaheglish.

In the shield final, Creaton’s of Loughglynn pipped Murray’s of Knockcroghery, also on a 4-3 scoreline.

Creaton’s, led by captain Sean Finan, just edged out Murray’s to become shield winners for the first time.

Jimmy Reilly, who had an outstanding league winning 16 of his 17 games, completed his league with
yet another win. He gave Murray’s the lead with a 3-0 win over Eugene McDonagh.

Sean Finan levelled for Creaton’s, beating Paul Carton 3-1, including a 180 en route.

Tony Thacker beat John Devaney in the third game as Creaton’s took the lead.

Pat Byrne and Mick Egan won games four and five with victories against Joe Crawley and long-time servant of
Roscommon County Darts, Matt Scally.

Pat Reid defeated Willie Doyle in the sixth game to set up the deciding contest between Scobie Connaughton
and Padraig Finan. With the scores tied at 2-2, the Loughlynn man snatched the title at the death.

Scores: J. Reilly 3, E. McDonagh 0; P. Carton 1, S. Finan 3; J. Devaney 0, T. Thacker 3; P. Byrne 3, J. Crawley 1;
M. Egan 3, M. Scally 0; W. Doyle 1, P. Reid 3; N. Connaughton 2, P. Finan 3.

The cup final was a nervous affair, although the standard was quite high.

Sean Fleming and David Concannon went head to head in the opening game with Concannon getting the better start.
Aided by checkouts of 76 and 98, he took a 2-1 lead. Fleming battled back to make it 3-3 and threw his best leg
at the death to scrape through4-3.

Spell’s Patrick Tansey, with the only 180 of the final, raced into a 3-0 lead against Thomas Concannon in the
second game. But it did not finish there. The further this game went on the better Concannon got. He pulled it
back to 3-2 and missed a couple of darts to make it 3-3. But the one chance Tansey got to clinch it, he did with
a 60 checkout earning Spell’s a valuable cushion.

McDermott’s skipper Andy Fallon defeated Jimmy Finn 4-3 in the third game. Finn’s scoring was more consistent than
his opponents but missed doubles added to the tension within the room.

Spell’s skipper Denis Coffey went on to beat Joe Elliffe 4-2 in the fourth game. He threw a 100 checkout to clinch
the title, his fourth 100 plus of the league.

In the fifth game, Mark Finneran, under immense pressure, emerged victorious with a 4-3 win over Martin Fleming.
Finneran never lost the lead in this one as his scoring was far more consistent. The Spell’s player did reel off 60
and 63 checkouts to stay in touch and had six darts to win the cup but his younger opposite held his nerve better
to bring it to another game.

Gary Concannon, the youngest player on show was outstanding in the sixth game beating Aiden Tansey 4-0, scoring and
finishing very well.

With the score now at 3-3, it left cousins Benji Hayden and Gerry Fallon to sort out the destination of the cup.
And it was to be Benji’s and Spell’s day as he beat Fallon on a 4-1 scoreline.

Scores: D.Concannon 3, S.Fleming 4; T.Concannon 2, P.Tansey 4; A.Fallon 4, J.Finn 3; J.Elliffe 2, D.Coffey 4;
M.Finneran 4, M.Fleming 3; G.Concannon 4, A.Tansey 0; G.Fallon 1, B.Hayden 4.

Presentations were made to the following for their dedication to Roscommon County Darts throughout the league
Ann Finan, Phil Carney, Kathy Fleming, Martina McKeon and Mary Concannon.

The West Coast Challenge Youth champions were presented with their winners’ medals.

Martin Murphy was presented with his highest checkout award from the recent Pete Donnellon Cup tournament.

Gary Concannon claimed the highest checkout prize with a 160 checkout.

The presentation of the Roscommon County Darts Shield was made by Chairman of the Irish National Darts Organisation,
Liam Kerins (Boyle), to winning captain Sean Finan.

The presentation of the Willie Tiernan Perpetual Cup was made by Martin Hannon of Hannon’s Hotel to winning Spell’s
captain Denis Coffey.

Roscommon County Darts wishes to thank all those who attended the final on Sunday, and the players and supporters who
attended and supported games throughout the winter.

The committee also thanks the pubs for their hospitality.

Thanks also to Tommy Beirne, Martin Murphy and Mick Kilroe who called and checked scores on Sunday last.

Finally, thanks to Martin Hannon of Hannon’s Hotel, Roscommon for their kind sponsorship of this year’s league.